irish banknotes Irish paper money Link to Irish papermoney Forum Interlink icon Link to Irishpapermoney main page


Main Page < Introduction to Irish Paper Money < Timeline Page 16 of 25 > Next

Irish Papermoney Historical Timeline
Central Bank of Ireland 1943

Central Bank of Ireland (A Series)
1943–1944 World War 2 ETO Code (Type 5)

When the Central Bank of Ireland replaced the Currency Commission in 1943, the Emergency Tracer Overprint Code was retained on the basic A Series note design.
The only other change to the design of the notes was the title of the Issuing Authority which was altered from Currency Commission Ireland to The Central Bank of Ireland.

There are 16 code variations for Central Bank ETO code banknotes:
10/-: 4 codes, L; M; R; E, £1: 4 codes, G; Y; E; F, £5: 3 codes, N; R; M, £10: 4 codes, G; Y; E; F, £20: 1 code, A

 • Version 2.1.0 • Last update • COPYRIGHT ©2000, 2009, 2015, M Mac Devitt. Reproduction with citation permitted.