Irish paper money
Interlink icon
Link to Irishpapermoney main page
Link to Irish papermoney Forum


Home < Main Site Map < Introduction to Irish Paper Money < Timeline Page 7 of 28 > Next

Irish Papermoney Historical Timeline
All Ireland 1919-1921

Historical Timeline of Irish Paper Money
link to previous page
link to next page

Transition of Irish Currency to modern format, small size notes, no branches

Joint stock Banks Single Branch Banknote Issues

The Bank Notes (Ireland) Act 1920 came into force on 4 Aug 1920, and removed the obligation of Irish banks to pay their notes on demand at any branch other than the head office. Branch listings ceased to be printed on banknotes as a result of this, with just the head office name on each note.

The Northern Bank and Belfast Bank listed Belfast as head office, Ulster Bank listed Belfast & Dublin until 1925 when only Belfast was listed thereafter. The other three banks listed Dublin as head office.

Banknotes began to be increasingly printed on both sides. Higher denominations of most banks continued to be old style large-sized notes.

Bank of Ireland One Pound 1921Provincial Bank of Ireland One Pound 1921Ulster Bank One Pound 1925Provincial Bank of Ireland 5 Pounds 1920
Bank of Ireland 5 Pounds 1920Northern Banking Company Five Pounds 1921Northern Banking Company 5 Pounds

<BACK - NEXT> Version 3.0.3 Copyright ©2000 - 2022, M Mac Devitt.