Irish paper money
Interlink icon
Link to Irishpapermoney main page
Link to Irish papermoney Forum


Home < Main Site Map < Old Banknotes >
Agricultural and Commercial Bank - Bank of Ireland - Belfast Bank - Hibernian Bank - National Bank - Northern Bank - Provincial Bank - Ulster Bank

All-Ireland Banknotes - The National Bank


The National Bank of Ireland banknotes 1835-1927National Bank ten pounds 1915

National Bank, Four Series: Series A 1835 - Series B 1870 - Series C 1918 - Series D 1921

Series E, F, Northern Ireland Issue, commencing 1929.

The National Bank Ltd


Irish Joint Stock Banks of Note Issue, 1824 Act

The 1824 Act allowed the creation of Joint Stock banks of note issue in Ireland with the right to issue notes outside of a 50 mile radius of Dublin, with Bank of Ireland retaining a monopoly on note issue within that radius. Prior to this the only joint stock bank in Ireland had been the Bank of Ireland, which had been established as a private joint stock bank by Royal Charter in 1783 and had sole right of note issue for a bank with greater than 6 partners.

The National Bank was formed in 1834 in London by Daniel O’Connell and the Nationalist Party as The National Bank of Ireland. The deed of covenant was signed on 6 January 1835 by 249 shareholders. The first Branch opened in Carrick on Suir either on Monday 26 or Wednesday 28 January 1835 (history appears not to have recorded what the exact date was!). The Bank’s first Governor was Daniel O’Connell, a fact which earned the Bank the nickname of The Liberator’s Bank.

The bank aimed itself at farmers and at country business outside Dublin. It expanded its branch network rapidly, but refrained from moving into Ulster to any significant degree as the province was then well covered by banks. In 1856 the Bank’s name was changed to The National Bank Ltd., as it commenced business in London.

National Bank All-Ireland Dublin Issue, Large Size

The National Bank issued its first notes in 1835, and was a large issuer of banknotes. Banknotes of denominations £1, £3, £5, £10, £20, £50, £100 were issued. Of these, no £50 or £100 notes have been recorded except in proof form. Later proof notes are very common, on both pink and white paper, and generally with the bottom third cut off.

Issued notes of the other denominations are obtainable. All denominations are scarce, with £3 and £20 being the rarest. £1 notes are the most common. Issued National Bank notes of any denomination prior to 1900 are rarely offered.

National Bank Small Size Notes Dublin Issue, 1918, 1921

The National Bank issued small size notes with branches (1918-1920) in denominations of £1, £5, £10. It is likely that the issue of the £3 denomination was discontinued after 1915, the last year for which a note has been seen.

Small size notes without branches (1921-1926) were produced in all denominations up to £100. The National Bank was the only bank to issue the full range of denominations as small size notes in this era. It is likely that £20, £50 and £100 notes circulated in small quantities, though they have only been seen as Specimen notes.

Later Irish banknote Issues, post-1928 and Northern Ireland

It issued Consolidated Banknotes in 1929, as well as its own Northern Ireland issue.

In 1966 the Irish Business of the Bank was taken over by a new company called The National Bank of Ireland Ltd., which was set up as a subsidiary of The Bank of Ireland Group. The National Bank was subsequently taken over by the Bank of Ireland.

National Bank Three pounds 1891Ireland, National Bank, Ten Pounds 1920

Special Sections and Articles

Irish Joint Stock Banks of Note Issue from 1783
Contemporary Forgeries of Early Irish Banknotes ca1800-1930
Irish Three Pound Notes of the Joint Stock Banks
The Transition of Irish Currency, Irish banknotes 1918–1928
The Partition of Irish currency, Irish banknotes 1928–1930 Version 3.0.3 Copyright ©2000 - 2022, M Mac Devitt.