Irish paper money
Interlink icon
Link to Irishpapermoney main page
Link to Irish papermoney Forum


Main Page < Northern Ireland Issue < National Bank < Series E 1929-34 - Date listings > Series F 1937-64 > Old Banknotes 1921 Series D

The National Bank
Series E 1929-1934 First Northern Ireland Issue

National Bank Limited Belfast Issue

National Bank new design Northern Ireland Issue 1929

The National Bank created an entirely new design for its Northern Ireland Issue. In common with its previous issues, all of the banknotes of Series E are of similar size. The notes are smaller than those of the bank's last All-Ireland issue (Series D). Series E was a small one, and short-lived, being replaced in 1937 with a new design for Series F. Series E bankotes of all denominations are generally rare.

One Type for National Bank Limited notes 1929-1934

There is one Type and signature variety for Series E banknotes.

Type A 1929-1934. Signature F. H. Green. £1, £5, £10, £20.

National Bank One Pound 1929 National Bank Five Pounds 1929

National Bank 10 Pounds 1933 National Bank Northern Ireland Issue 10 Pounds

National Bank 20 Pounds 1929

All denominations are the same at 150 x 80 mm approx.

National Bank First Northern Ireland Issue date listing 1929-1934

All the dates have been recorded for Series E: £1 Notes, 5 dates; £5 Notes, 3 dates; £10 Notes, 2 dates; £20 Notes, 1 date. Examples of all the recorded dates can be viewed in the National Bank Northern Ireland Issue date listing 1929-1934. Version 3.0.3 Copyright ©2000 - 2022, M Mac Devitt.