irish banknotes
Irish paper money
Link to Irish papermoney Forum
Interlink icon
Link to Irishpapermoney main page


Home < Main Site Map < Northern Ireland Banknotes >
Bank of Ireland - Belfast Bank - National Bank - Northern Bank, Danske - Provincial Bank, AIB, First Trust - Ulster Bank

Northern Ireland Banknotes
From 1929 - Note issues of the Joint Stock Banks

bank of Ireland northern ireland banknotes 1929

belfast bank northern ireland banknotes 1929

national bank  northern ireland banknotes 1929

northern bank danske northern ireland banknotes 1929

provincial bank of Ireland northern ireland banknotes 1929

ulster bank northern ireland banknotes 1929

Northern Ireland Banknote issues

Ireland was ruled by the British until December 6th 1921. After this the country was partitioned into The Irish Free State (composed of 26 counties) and Northern Ireland (composed of 6 counties). Northern Ireland remained part of the United Kingdom, and the Irish Free State went on to become the Republic of Ireland.

During British rule several of the Joint Stock Commercial Banks had acquired the right to issue banknotes under various rules and restrictions. The Bank of Ireland was the first bank to issue paper money for circulation exclusively in Ireland. Its first issue was in 1783. Other banks later also received the right to issue paper money.

The right of note issue continued during the early years of the Irish Free State. The Currency Act 1927 provided for the creation of the Currency Commission Ireland to control the issue of currency in the new Irish state. In 1928 it commenced the issue of A Series Legal Tender Notes.

Bank of Ireland Ten Pounds 1929National Bank 20 Pounds 1929

In 1929 the currency issues of the Associated Banks (commercial banks) in the island of Ireland split into Consolidated Banknotes controlled by the Currency Commission in the Irish Free State, and a new Belfast issue in Northern Ireland. The Consolidated Banknote Issue replaced the banks' own note issues in the Irish Free State.

All six of the Joint Stock banks that had the right of note issue under British rule in Ireland continued to issue their own notes in Northern Ireland as part of the Northern Ireland Belfast Issue from 1929. They were: The Bank of Ireland, National Bank, Ulster Bank, Northern Bank, Provincial Bank of Ireland, Belfast Banking Company.

The notes issued by the six banks were never legal tender, except during World War Two when Legal Tender status was granted as an emergency measure. This status was revoked again after the end of the war.

Types of Northern Ireland Banknotes

There are two basic Type groups for Northern Ireland banknotes.

All of the banks began to new produce modern small sized note designs in the late 1960s and early 1970 These banknotes incorporated the latest security features of the time.

Examples of many of the old banknote varieties and types are not available for illustration here. We would welcome submissions from anyone in possession of banknotes not pictured on this web site.

National Bank 20 Pounds Ulster Bank 20 PoundsUlster Bank 50 Pounds
Belfast Banking Company 5 PoundsBank of Ireland 20 Pounds 1929Provincial Bank of Ireland 20 Pounds 1929

Click to go to:
Bank of Ireland
National Bank

Special Sections and Articles

Irish Joint Stock Banks of Note Issue from 1783
Contemporary Forgeries of Early Irish Banknotes ca1800-1930
Irish Three Pound Notes of the Joint Stock Banks
The Transition of Irish Currency, Irish banknotes 1918–1928
The Partition of Irish currency, Irish banknotes 1928–1930
Low Number Irish Banknotes

Home < Main Site Map < Northern Ireland Banknotes

logo Version 3.0.1 Last update COPYRIGHT ©2000, 2009, 2015, 2021, M Mac Devitt. Reproduction with citation permitted.